How To

What Happens When You Block Someone On Gmail

If you have blocked someone’s email on Gmail then you will notice that you will no longer see their emails in your primary inbox. Their emails will then automatically get stored in your spam folder. If you don’t want to receive someone’s email on your Gmail then you can easily block that specific sender on your mobile or desktop. This is what this article is all about as here we will discuss what happens when you block someone on Gmail and will also going to tell you how to block someone on Gmail. So keep on reading this article.

A brief introduction

When it comes to business-related communication email is the most commonly used medium of communication. These days most of the companies adopt company email addresses which makes it looks much more genuine and professional but there is even a huge user base that is relying on Gmail for the day-to-day emailing needs. As you all know that Gmail is the most commonly preferred mailing domain that is offered by Google and one of the best features of Gmail is that you will be getting about 15 GB space for free that includes Google drive data, emails, Google Photos, Google Hangouts, and lots more.

As we have already said that in this blog post will be talking about blocking someone on Gmail and how to know if someone blocked you on Gmail.

How to block someone on Gmail on the desktop?

When it comes to blocking someone on Gmail it is a very easy process but you need to know certain steps for blocking someone on Gmail. So let’s see how to block someone on Gmail on the desktop:

Step 1:

Firstly you have to log in to your Gmail account by submitting your Gmail address and password. next, you need to open the specific email from the person whom you are willing to block.

Step 2:

Next, you need to click on the three dots as we have shown below and then Tap on “block <sender name>

what happens when you block someone on gmail

Now you will notice that a pop-up screen will appear which will state that the future emails of the person will be stored in the spam folders.

Now click on the block option. And you’re done.

Once you have followed all the above-mentioned processes all the future emails of the sender will directly get stored in the spam folders instead of the primary email section. So this was all about what happens when you block someone on Gmail on the desktop. 

Now as you have seen how to block someone on Gmail in desktop now let’s have a look at the same on your phone.

 

How to block someone from sending you emails on Gmail on the phone?

When it comes to blocking someone on Gmail on phone the process is almost similar to that of the desktop. The following steps will show you how to block someone from sending you emails on Gmail in phone:

  • Firstly you need to open your Gmail app.
  • Next, you need to open the email of that specific person that you are willing to block.
  • Then you need to click on the three dots that is situated on the top right corner and then tap “block <sender name>
  • Once you click on the block option all the emails of that specific sender will be stored in the spam folder.

One thing you need to note that you don’t have to block on both app as well as desktop simultaneously. Just blocked on any one of these two and it will work on both the devices. This means if you are using a Gmail account on desktop as well as on your phone, you can block on any one of these and it will function in the same way on your phone. So this was all about what happens when you block someone on Gmail and how to block someone from sending you an email on phone.

What happens when you block someone on Gmail?

When you are blocking someone on Gmail the specific sender will still be able to send you emails but as you don’t want to receive his or her email on your inbox these emails will get stored on the spam folder instantly. So you don’t have to worry as you won’t be getting any notification.

Not only this the person to whom you have blocked on Gmail will never come to know that you have blocked him or her. But when it comes to how to know if someone blocked you on Gmail? If that person doesn’t get any response from you then he can assume that you have blocked him or her.

Can you unblock someone on Gmail?

If you have a question in your mind on can you unblock someone on Gmail then the answer is definitely yes. When you have blocked someone on Gmail then it is obvious that you have done it intentionally as you don’t want to get any email from that person. But there are sometimes when you block a person unintentionally. Now how can you unblock someone on Gmail? Well, the process is very easy. if you want to unblock someone on Gmail on the desktop you will simply have to open the email of that specific sender whom you have blocked and then click on “unblock sender“. 

Once you have clicked on the unlock sender option then it will again show a pop up message where you have to click the unblock option.

Note: You need to follow the same process on the phone as well.

Wrapping Up

So as you have seen what happens when you block someone on Gmail? The process of blocking as well as unblocking a person on Gmail is very easy as you have seen above.

When it comes to blocking someone on Gmail do these steps when it is required. Never ever block a person unnecessarily as that person may have something important to discuss with you. So we hope that this post was helpful to you. What’s your take on what happens when you block someone on Gmail? Do let us know your take on the comment section below.

About the author

Joyeeta Bhattacharjee

Joyeeta is Tech Blogger who brings regular scoop of tech content.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment